Article Image
Courtesy: CAA/Greg Carroccio
Drexel's Nathan Page

Page Headlines Preseason All-CAA Men's Soccer Team

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 08/13/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

RICHMOND, Va. (August 13, 2013) – Drexel senior midfielder Nathan Page, who earned All-CAA and All-Region honors in 2012, has been chosen as the CAA’s preseason men’s soccer Player of the Year for 2013 in voting by the league’s head coaches.

Page led the Dragons and ranked among the top 10 in the CAA last season with nine goals and 19 points. The senior midfielder scored a goal in six consecutive conference games from Oct. 6-24. Four of his goals were game-winners, including three that came in CAA road contests. Page received first-team All-CAA and second-team All-South Atlantic Region accolades and was picked as the Philadelphia Soccer Six Player of the Year. His performance helped lead Drexel to the CAA regular-season title and its first NCAA Tournament berth since 1972.

Joining Page in the midfield on the preseason All-CAA men’s soccer team were UNCW junior Jamie Dell, William & Mary junior Marcus Luster, Northeastern senior Dante Marini and Drexel senior Ken Tribbett.  Dell earned first-team All-CAA honors in 2012 after contributing four goals and a team-best four assists for the Seahawks, while Luster shared the team lead with three goals for the Tribe last year. Marini, who had a goal and five assists a year ago, was a first-team All-CAA pick in 2011 and made the second team in 2012. Tribbett tallied three goals and two assists last season and made the All-CAA second team for the second year in a row.

Earning preseason all-conference honors at forward were Hofstra senior Chris Griebsch, James Madison junior Josh Grant and Hofstra junior forward Maid Memic. Griebsch contributed four goals and a league-high 11 assists for the Pride last year and was named to the All-CAA second team. Grant was a member of the CAA All-Rookie team in 2012 after ranking second for the Dukes with seven goals and 15 points. Memic topped Hofstra and was among the top five in the CAA with nine goals and 22 points last season to garner second-team all-conference accolades.

Making the preseason All-CAA team on defense were James Madison sophomore Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, Drexel senior Tal Bublil, Northeastern junior Simon Cox and Delaware junior Tobias Muller. Aðalsteinsson received first-team All-CAA and second-team Freshman All-America honors after anchoring the Dukes’ defense, while Bublil was chosen to the All-CAA second team after leading a Dragons’ backline that recorded eight shutouts. Cox, who contributed four goals for the Huskies, was a first-team All-CAA pick and was chosen as the CAA Co-Defensive Player of the Year in 2012. Muller was the top defender for the Blue Hens last season and was named to the All-CAA second team.

At goalkeeper is College of Charleston senior Kees Heemskerk, who was a member of the All-Southern Conference second team last season. He posted a 1.29 goals against average, made 74 saves and recorded five shutouts for the Cougars.

The 2013 CAA men’s soccer season gets underway on Friday, August 30.


Player, School                                                   Pos.                       Cl.                           Hometown

Josh Grant, James Madison                              F                              Jr.                           Plymouth, England

Chris Griebsch, Hofstra                                     F                              Sr.                           Dessau-Rosslau, Germany

Maid Memic, Hofstra                                         F                              Jr.                           Kozarac, Bosnia

Jamie Dell, UNCW                                           MF                          Jr.                           Chapel Hill, N.C.

Marcus Luster, William & Mary                       MF                          Jr.                           Chesapeake, Va.

Dante Marini, Northeastern                            MF                          Sr.                           Chadds Ford, Pa.

Nathan Page, Drexel                                      MF                          Sr.                           Norwich, England

Ken Tribbett, Drexel                                      MF                          Sr.                           Centennial, Colo.

Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, James Madison           D                             So.                          Kopavogur, Iceland

Tal Bublil, Drexel                                            D                             Sr.                           Kfar-Mass, Israel

Simon Cox, Northeastern                               D                             Jr.                           London, England

Tobias Muller, Delaware                                 D                             Jr.                           Steinfurt, Germany

Kees Heemskerk, Coll. of Charleston          GK                          Sr.                           Zaandam, Netherlands

Honorable Mention: Colin Bonner, So., F, UNCW; Daan Brinkman, Jr., D, Coll. of Charleston; Jonathan Eckford, Sr., MF, Northeastern; Donovan Fayd’Herbe de Maudave, Jr., F, Northeastern; Ambry Moss, Jr., D, Northeastern; Troy Peterson, Sr., MF, Coll. of Charleston; Will Smith, Sr., D, William & Mary