Article Image
Courtesy: CAA
George Mason's David Verburg

Mason's Verburg Repeats As Male T&F Athlete of Year

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 06/24/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Quick Links

RICHMOND, Va. (June 24, 2013) – George Mason senior David Verburg (Lynchburg,  Va.) was selected as the CAA Male Athlete of the Year in track and field for the second consecutive season by a vote of the league’s head coaches.  Also earning top track and field honors from the conference were William & Mary freshman Robert Smutsky (Dillsburg, Pa.), who was chosen as the CAA Rookie of the Year, and William & Mary’s Stephen Walsh, who was voted CAA Coach of the Year.

Verburg earned first-team All-America honors for the second year in a row after placing fourth in the 400 meters at the 2013 NCAA Track & Field Championship with a time of 45.03. He also earned honorable mention All-America honors as a member of Mason’s 4X400 relay team. The senior continued to impress on the national stage last weekend by finishing sixth in the 400 meters with a time of 45.34 at the U.S. Outdoor Track & Field Championships. In the semifinals of the event, he posted a personal-best time of 44.75, which was the 7th-fastest time in the world. Verburg was named the Most Outstanding Performer in track events at the 2013 CAA Championship after winning the 400 meters for the fourth straight year with a time of 45.37. He also captured the 200 meters in a personal-best time of 20.69. Verburg, who was also chosen as George Mason’s Male Athlete of the Year, will represent the United States in the 400 meters at the World University Games in Kazan, Russia next month.

Smutsky was the CAA champion in the javelin with a then-personal best throw of 66.02m (216-7). The freshman set a new personal record at the NCAA East Region Championships, where he placed 15th in the javelin with a throw of 67.77m (222-4). Last weekend, he won the javelin competition at the U.S. Junior National Championships by shattering his own record once again with a throw of 69.08m (226-8). That performance earned Smutsky a spot on Team USA for the Pan-Am Junior Games, which will be held in Medellin, Colombia in August. Along with his efforts in the javelin, Smutsky was one of the Tribe’s top sprinters this season. He recorded a time of 11.09 in the 100 meters and 21.68 in the 200 meters.

Walsh received CAA men’s track & field Coach of the Year honors for the first time after guiding William & Mary to its first conference championship since 2004. The Tribe scored 185 points to pull out a seven-point team victory and claimed six individual titles.

In addition to the 2013 major award winners in men’s track and field, the following individuals and relay teams received All-CAA honors based on their performances at the CAA Championship.

2013 CAA Men’s Track and Field All-Conference Honorees:


100m: Jeremy Johnson (UNCW), Jared Lane (NU), David Lindsay (UNCW)

200m: David Verburg (Mason), Adrian Vaughn (Mason), Jeremy Johnson (UNCW)

400m: David Verburg (Mason), Adrian Vaughn (Mason), Alex Shapiro (NU)

800m: Eric Jenkins (NU), Tyler Golden (Mason), Dylan Skinner (UNCW)

1,500m: Eric Jenkins (NU), John Muller (W&M), Parker Boudreau (Mason)

5,000m: Josh Hardin (W&M), Alex McGrath (W&M), Wesley Gallagher (NU)

10,000m: Josh Hardin (W&M), Alex McGrath (W&M), Rad Gunzenhauser (W&M)

110m hurdles: Anthony Williams (Mason), David Lindsay (UNCW), Jared Lane (NU)

400m hurdles: Anthony Colon (UNCW), Matthew Foster (UNCW), Jared Lane (NU)

3,000m Steeplechase: Liam Anastasia-Murphy (W&M), Rad Gunzenhauser (W&M), Ryan Gousse (W&M)

4x100m relay: UNCW (Cameron White, Jeremy Johnson, Jordan Reed, David Lindsay)

                            William & Mary (Jomar Aryee, Ben Katz, Greg Gallagher, Matthew Renn)

                             Northeastern (Alex Shapiro, Donovan Henry, Kaylin Miranda, Jared Lane)

4x400m relay: Northeastern (Donovan Henry, Alex Shapiro, Josh Norris, Kevin Hunter)

                            UNCW (Kyle McLendon, Trip Foreman, Jamar Collins-Hall, Dylan Skinner)

                            William & Mary (Jomar Aryee, Richard Cappetta, David Gunnerson, Ian McFawn)

High Jump: Jackson MacDonald (NU), Ben Katz (W&M), Tyler Allard (UNCW)

Pole Vault: Austin Vegas (UNCW), Derek O’Connell (W&M), Kevin Webb (UNCW)

Long Jump: Cameron Walton (UNCW), Kaylin Miranda (NU), Byron Sintim (Mason)

Triple Jump: Aerial Chatman (UNCW), Tejorn Davis (NU), Cameron Walton (UNCW)

Shot Put: Brian Waterfield (W&M), Taylor Frenia (W&M), Kevin Rosenberg (NU)

Discus: Kyle Barbour (UNCW), Brian Waterfield (W&M), Taylor Frenia (W&M)

Hammer: Max Milder (NU), Kyle Barbour (UNCW), James Hall (NU)

Javelin: Robert Smutsky (W&M), AJ Dow (UNCW), Brian Waterfield (W&M)

Decathlon: Gustavo Osorio (Mason), Dylan Lucas (NU), Kenzell Crawford (Mason)