Article Image
Courtesy: CAA

2013 CAA Women's Golf Championship Set to Tee-Off

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 04/18/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

The 2013 CAA Women's Golf Championship begins on Friday morning at the St. James Plantation in Southport, N.C. The 54-hole tournament will conclude on Sunday afternoon with the winning team earning an automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.

Nine women's teams will battle at the par 72, 6,066-yard Reserve Club course for the second straight season. Just three teams have ever won the CAA women's golf championship title: James Madison, Georgia State and UNCW.

Defending champion UNCW came from behind after the first round to clinch its second straight and fourth overall CAA title in 2012. The Seahawks are on pace to battle for another title as they enter the tournament ranked No. 1 among the team standings, with Lori Beth Adams, Johanna Bjoerk and Laverry Kumar ranked among the top four in the league in head-to-head.

Richmond, who placed eighth a year ago, enter this year’s tournament ranked at No. 2 as they are led by new head coach and former UNCW volunteer Maggie Will. The Spiders are led by Tracy Martin, who is ranked third in the league in head-to-head competition. Xavier follows ranked third and will tee-off with the Seahawks and the Spiders on Friday. The Musketeers are led by Shane Crutchfield, Abigail Smith and Breanna Patz this season.

The James Madison Dukes enter the tournament as the No. 4 seed with the fifth and sixth top players in the league in Ginger Mak and Maria Legaspi. The fifth-seeded team is William & Mary, followed by the University of Delaware as the No. 6 seeded five-some.  The top six teams will tee-off the 1st tee on Friday morning, while Dayton (#7), Towson (#8) and Hofstra (#9) will start the split-tee start at #10.

The three-day event will open with split tees each day and live scoring will be available.  Friday and Saturday first tee times will be at 9 am, while Sunday will kick-off at 8 am. The tournament will conclude on Sunday afternoon with the award ceremonies.