Front Cover

Back Cover

Inside Front Cover

Inside Back Cover

2008 CAA Football: BACK FOR MORE

The inaugural season of CAA Football was extremely successful with an FCS-record five teams qualifying for the NCAA playoffs, 67 players earning All-America honors and Delaware becoming the fourth CAA team in the past five seasons to compete in the national championship game. While the CAA and its 12 programs are proud of those accomplishments, we are “Back for More” in 2008.

As many as five squads return All-America honorees in 2008 including Delaware’s Matt Marcorelle and Jon Striefsky, New Hampshire’s Scott Sicko, Maine’s Jovan Belcher, Rhode Island’s Joe Casey and Richmond’s Matt McCracken and Justin Rogers.

CAA Football, which holds a string of 17-consecutive seasons with multiple berths in the NCAA Championships, has seen 10 of its 12 schools play at least one playoff game since 2001. CAA Football has produced three National Champions, six National Finalists and more than 330 All-Americans. Delaware and James Madison won back-to-back National Championships in 2003 and 2004, marking the first time consecutive championships have gone to two different teams from the same league.

Over the last six seasons league squads have earned 19 NCAA Championship berths and 27 NCAA Championship wins. Delaware, which returns nine starters from last season’s defensive unit, put together a string of four-straight postseason wins in 2007 to reach the National Championship game.

CAA Football squads have finished the season among the National Top-25 more than 80 times dating back to the league’s inception. Last season Delaware (No. 2), Richmond (No. 5), Massachusetts (No. 7), James Madison (No. 12) and New Hampshire (No. 14) were among the Top-15 in the final 2007 poll, as all five represented the conference in last season’s NCAA Championships.

Richmond returns 16-of-22 starters from its Conference Championship team which advanced to the 2007 National Semifinals. Massachusetts, another CAA Football Champion in 2007, will be led by All-Conference senior quarterback Liam Coen, who will be firmly planted among the 2008 Walter Payton Award candidates.

The 2008 CAA Football Preview is now available online. Click on each of the links below to browse through each section in the 76-page book. Clicking on each of the cover images to the right will give you access to larger cover images.