Article Image
Courtesy: CAA
Delaware's Andrew Pierce joins Towson's Terrance West on the 2013 Walter Payton Award Watch List.

Pierce, West Selected to Payton Award Watch List

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 07/08/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

RICHMOND, Va. – CAA Football was represented by a pair of standout players in Delaware’s Andrew Pierce and Towson’s Terrance West on the 2013 Walter Payton Award Watch List. The Sports Network announced the 20-member watch list on Monday.

Pierce concluded his junior campaign with All-CAA honors for the third consecutive year. Despite battling injuries for much of the season, the Bridgeton, N.J., native and 2011 finalist managed to finish among the league leaders in rushing with a team-best 703 yards and four touchdowns. Although Pierce missed two games to injuries and played sparingly in a pair of others, he closed out the fall as CAA Football’s sixth-leading rusher with 78.1 yards per game and ran for 100 or more yards three times. He enters his senior season ranked third in the Blue Hen record books with 3,637 career rushing yards.

West has earned First Team All-CAA accolades in each of the past two seasons. The Baltimore product has recorded an impressive 2,340 yards and 44 touchdowns in two years with the Tigers. He completed his sophomore campaign as the league’s second-leading rusher with 1,046 yards to go with a conference-best 15 scores. West was named the inaugural Jerry Rice Award Winner in 2011 after turning in a school record 29 rushing touchdowns.

For the complete Payton Award Watch List release, please visit sportsnetwork.com. The Sports Network has also created an awards homepage accessible here.

The Payton Award Watch List can undergo revision during the 2013 season. Ballots will be sent to a panel of about 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries after the close of the regular season on Nov. 23. The top three vote-getters will be invited to The Sports Network FCS Awards Presentation in December.

The Sports Network also presents the Buck Buchanan, Jerry Rice and Eddie Robinson Awards. The Buchanan Award honors the FCS defensive player of the year, the Rice Award goes to the FCS freshman of the year and the Robinson Award honors the FCS coach of the year. Those three winners will join the top three Payton Award finalists at December’s national awards banquet.

CAA Football is on Twitter @CAAFootball and uses the official hashtag #CAAFB. We can also be found on FacebookInstagram and blogging on our Every Day Is Saturday official blog at caafootball.wordpress.com. All CAA Football video productions can be found on our YouTube Channel.