RICHMOND, Va. (June 29, 2011) – VCU senior Quina Fortune (New Orleans, La.) was chosen as the 2011 CAA Female Athlete of the Year in track and field by a vote of the league’s head coaches.  Also receiving top honors were Georgia State freshman Tamara Moore (Carrollton, Ga.), who was selected as the CAA Rookie of the Year in women’s track and field, and Georgia State’s Eric Campbell, who was voted CAA Coach of the Year.

Fortune qualified for the NCAA East Regionals in the 200 meters and advanced to the quarterfinals, where she placed 15th overall with a time of 23.87. She was honored as the Most Outstanding Performer in track events at the CAA Championship after winning conference titles in the 100 meters (11.57), 200 meters (23.77) and the 4X100 relay (school-record 45.27). Fortune holds VCU records in the 200 meters both indoors and outdoors as well as in the 4X100 relay. She is only the second VCU track performer to earn CAA Female Athlete of the Year honors, joining Maria-Elena Calle, who received the award in 1999 and 2000.

Moore qualified for the NCAA East Regionals in the 100-meter hurdles, where she placed fifth of eight in her heat. The freshman was the CAA champion in the 100m hurdles with a time of 13.842, which was her second-fastest time of the season. She was also a member of the Panthers’ 4X100 relay squad that placed seventh at the CAA Championship. Moore qualified for the NCAA Regionals by shattering the school record with a time of 13.50 in the 100m hurdles at the Alice Coachman Invitational. That time was the 28th-fastest in the East Region. Moore is Georgia State’s second women’s track and field Rookie of the Year in the past three seasons, joining Brandy Swann who earned the award in 2009.    

Campbell was selected as the CAA Coach of the Year in women’s track and field for the first time after guiding Georgia State to its first conference title. The Panthers scored a school-record 133 points and captured individual titles in seven different events. Six GSU athletes earned invitations to the NCAA Regionals.

In addition to the 2011 major award winners in women’s track and field, the following individuals and relay teams received All-CAA honors based on their performances at the CAA Championship.

2011 CAA Women’s Track and Field All-Conference Honorees:

100m:  Quina Fortune (VCU), Jordan Simmons (JMU), Maleena Reid (UNCW)
200m: Quina Fortune (VCU), Victoria Caruso (Delaware), Jordan Simmons (JMU)
400m: Victoria Caruso (Delaware), Daianna Barron (Mason), Brandy Swann (GSU)
800m: Seri Gordon (NU), Lindsay Prettyman (Delaware), Monique McKenzie (Mason)
1,500m: Nao Ma (Mason), Annie Reiner (JMU), Kathleen Lautzenheiser (W&M)
5,000m: Alison Parris (JMU), Elaina Balouris (W&M), Stacey Nobles (JMU)
10,000m: Katie Gorman (JMU), Sara Lasker (W&M), Kelsey Budd (W&M)
100m hurdles: Tamara Moore (GSU), Cortney Wright (UNCW), Saleena Abdur-Rashed (NU)
400m hurdles: Danielle Hill (GSU), Taylor Wheaton (Mason), Kayla Hennessy (Delaware)
3,000m Steeplechase: Betsy Graney (W&M), Katharine Showalter (GSU), Lily Patterson (UNCW)
4x100m relay: VCU (Niaimani Aduma, Quina Fortune, Jazlynn Finney, Dionna Hayes)
            James Madison (Marissa McDonald, Jordan Simmons, Ashley Williams, Ciarra Morris)
            George Mason (Crystalyne Clark, TaNay Chandler, Katea Jemmott, Daianna Barron)
4x400m relay: Delaware (Victoria Caruso, Nijah Dupiche, Kayla Hennessy, Kristi Cox)
           George Mason (Shantel Miles, Daianna Barron, Crystalyne Clark, Dominique Graham)
           Georgia State (Angelia Nugent, Brandy Swann, Lavina Dent, Danielle Hill)
High Jump: Shaquita Young (GSU), Allison Morris (VCU), Dominique Graham (Mason)
Pole Vault: Mandissa Marshall (Mason), Jillena Decarteret (NU), Annie Powell (UNCW)
Long Jump: Angelia Nugent (GSU), Jazlynn Finney (VCU), Ashley Adams (Towson)
Triple Jump: Angelia Nugent (GSU), Namatirai Grace Mavugara (Mason), Jaclyn Smith (JMU)
Shot Put: Yolanda Berryhill (GSU), Althea Charles (NU), Samantha Mosley (VCU)
Discus: Yolanda Berryhill (GSU), Julia Anyaugo (VCU), Alana Pantale (Delaware)
Hammer: Althea Charles (NU), Shannel Shivers (Towson), Julia Westover (NU)
Javelin: Jillian Seamon (Delaware), Heather Crocker (NU), Katie Guevel (W&M)
Heptathlon: Amanda Denger (Mason), Jacia Montgomery (GSU), Jennifer Monk (JMU)