Article Image
Courtesy: CAA/Rich Riggins

2013 CAA Women's Lacrosse Final Report

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 05/21/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

W&M’s Shaffrey and UD’s Zaugra Named YRL Unsung Hero Award Finalist: William & Mary’s Ellen Shaffrey and Delaware’s Alex Zaugra were named finalist for the Yardley Love Unsung Hero Award. The YRL Unsung Hero award was created in 2011 to honor student-athletes for their dedication and service to their teams and communities. The award is given to those men and women who are selfless on the field, and give back to their communities in a positive way. The recipient will also be awarded a sum of money from the One Love Foundation to be given to their favorite charity.

Ancarrow and Demski Named All-Americans: A pair of CAA women’s lacrosse players were named to the IWLCA Division I All-America teams as announced by the organization on May 16th. Towson’s Alexa Demski was named to the IWLCA All-America Second-Team while James Madison’s Casey Ancarrow received third-team accolades.

Ten Players on IWLCA All-Region Teams: 10 CAA women’s lacrosse student athletes were named to the IWLCA All-Region teams highlighted by Towson’s Alexa Demski and Ashleigh Rohrback, Hofstra’s April Iannetta, Delaware’s Caitlin McCartney and JMU’s Casey Ancarrow named to various first-teams.

Towson Falls to Stony Brook in NCAA Tourney: Stony Brook used a 4-1 run at the start of the second half to take a lead it would not relinquish en route to an 8-6 win over the Towson in the first round of the NCAA Tournament in College Park, Md.

Towson Wins CAA Championship: Top-seeded Towson scored five unanswered second half goals and defeated third-seeded Hofstra 9-4 in the finals of the 2013 CAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship. It was the Tigers second consecutive conference title.

#3 Hofstra Knocks off #2 JMU 6-4 in CAA Semifinals: Third-seeded Hofstra outscored second-seeded James Madison 4-1 in the second half and picked up a 6-4 victory in the second semifinal of the 2013 Women’s Lacrosse Championship. The Pride advanced to take on top-seeded Towson in the championship match.

Top-Seeded Towson Tops #4 Drexel in CAA Semifinals: Top-seeded Towson scored two unanswered goals in the final three minutes of the game to defeat fourth-seeded Drexel 8-7 in the first semifinal of the 2013 CAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship. The Tigers faced third-seeded Hofstra in the championship final.

Ancarrow and Rohrback Headline All-CAA Women’s Lacrosse Teams: James Madison senior attacker Casey Ancarrow and Towson junior attacker Ashleigh Rohrback were named the 2013 CAA Co-Players of the Year in women’s lacrosse by a vote of the league’s head coaches. Also receiving top honors were Towson senior defender Alexa Demski and Hofstra sophomore defender April Iannetta who were named the CAA Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Hofstra freshman attacker Becky Conto was selected as the CAA Rookie of the Year and Towson head coach Sonia LaMonica was named CAA Coach of the Year for the third year in a row.

Towson and JMU Share CAA Regular Season Championship: Towson and James Madison shared the CAA regular-season championship after each finishing the season with 6-1 records in conference play. It is Towson’s third straight regular-season title while it is JMU’s first since 2010.

Ancarrow Among Nominees for National POTY: James Madison redshirt senior Casey Ancarrow was among 25 finalists for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award, which is given to the nation’s top college lacrosse player. The Tewaaraton Award is presented annually following the collegiate season to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States.  Tewaaraton is the name the Mohawk Indian nation gave to its game and the progenitor of present-day lacrosse.