Article Image
Courtesy: CAA
Delaware's Caitlin McCartney

Ten CAA Standouts Earn IWLCA All-Region Honors

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 05/25/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Quick Links

RICHMOND, Va. (May 24, 2012) - Ten CAA women's lacrosse players were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Division I All-Region teams as announced by the organization on Thursday.

CAA Champion Towson led the league with two First-Team selections in senior goalkeeper Mary Teeters and junior defender Alexa Demski. Tigers' teammates Kelly Custer and Andi Raymond earned Second-Team honors in the Mid-Atlantic Region.

Delaware junior defender Angela Biciocchi and freshman midfielder Caitlin McCartney also earned Second-Team in the Mid-Atlantic Region, along with Drexel junior midfielder Kelli Joran.

James Madison had three players represented on the All-Region teams. Redshirt junior attacker and CAA Player of the Year Casey Ancarrow was tabbed to the Second-Team in the South Region. She was joined on the squad by senior defender Cally Chakrian and senior attacker Monica Zabel.

The IWLCA honored 128 student-athletes in all on this year's regional teams. The All-Region selections are now eligible for inclusion on the IWLCA All-American teams, which will be announced on May 27.


Mid-Atlantic Region

First Team

Alexa Demski, Jr., Towson, Defense

Mary Teeters, Sr., Towson, Goalkeeper

Second Team

Angela Biciocchi, Jr., Delaware, Defense

Kelly Custer, Jr., Towson, Midfield

Kelli Joran, Jr., Drexel, Midfield

Caitlin McCartney, Fr., Delaware, Midfield

Andi Raymond, So., Towson, Attack

South Region

Second Team

Casey Ancarrow, R-Jr., James Madison, Attack

Cally Chakrian, Sr., James Madison, Defense

Monica Zabel, Sr., James Madison, Attack