Article Image
Courtesy: CAA/Mark Selders

Penn State, Towson to Represent CAA In 2013 NCAA Men's Lacrosse Tournament

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 05/05/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

RICHMOND, Va. (May 5, 2013) --Nationally-ranked Penn State and Towson, the 2013 CAA Men's Lacrosse Champion, learned their fate late in the 2013 NCAA postseason field Sunday evening. The Nittany Lions earned an overall No. 8 seed and the right to host a first round contest as they will welcome Yale. The Tigers will visit No. 3 seeded Ohio State in the opening round.

Towson earned the league's automatic berth with an upset 11-10 victory over nationally-ranked Penn State Friday afternoon. The Tigers (10-7) will visit Ohio State (12-3), which earned a No. 3 overall seed, on Sunday, May 12 for a 3 p.m. contest to be aired on ESPNU/WatchESPN. The winner between Towson/OSU will face the winner of No. 6 Maryland/Cornell on Saturday, May 18 in College Park, Md. The Tigers are headed to the postseason tournament for the first time since 2007.

Penn State (12-4), which earned an at-large bid and a subsequent eight seed, will host the Ivy League champion Yale (11-4). The Nittany Lions and the Bulldogs will pair up in University Park, Pa., on Saturday, May 11 at 2:30 p.m. on ESPNU/WatchESPN.  The winner of the PSU/Yale contest will move on to a quarterfinal game also in College Park, Md., and will play the victor of the Syracuse/Bryant contest. The Orange as the overall No. 1 seed. The quarterfinals will be held on Saturday, May 18 and air on ESPN2/ESPN3.

The CAA has seen multiple teams selected to the NCAA tournament four of the last five seasons.  Delaware advanced to the semifinals in 2007, but fell to Johns Hopkins, 8-3. In 2003, Towson advanced to the quarterfinals with an 11-6 victory over Penn State in the first round, before falling to Johns Hopkins, 14-6, in the quarters. This is the Tigers' fifth trip to the NCAA Men's Lacrosse tournament as a league member and it is Penn State's first since joining the CAA in 2010.

The Division I Semifinal and Championship games, and the Division II and III Championship games, will be held at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pa., from May 25-27, hosted by CAA member Drexel.