Article Image
Courtesy: CAA
JMU's Sarah Mooney, Hofstra head coach Bill Edwards, JMU's Jailyn Ford and Hofstra's Olivia Galati.

2013 CAA Softball Postseason Honors Headlined by James Madison’s Mooney

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 05/07/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. (May 7, 2013) – James Madison sophomore Sarah Mooney was chosen as the 2013 Colonial Athletic Association Softball Player of the Year by a vote of the league’s eight head coaches. Her honor headlines this year’s All-CAA awards, which were presented Tuesday evening on the campus of Hofstra University, which is the host of the 2013 CAA Softball Championship.

Joining Mooney as major award winners were JMU teammate Jailyn Ford, who was selected as the CAA Rookie of the Year, Hofstra senior Olivia Galati, who was selected as the Pitcher of the Year for the fourth consecutive season, and Hofstra’s Bill Edwards, who was voted CAA Coach of the Year for the sixth year in a row.

Mooney finished the regular season with a league-best .414 batting average, including a .456 performance at the plate in conference play. The sophomore designated player also led the CAA with 63 RBI, 15 home runs, and a .758 slugging percentage in 52 starts for the Dukes. In CAA action, Mooney topped all players with 31 hits and 27 RBI. Mooney is the third James Madison player to be honored as the CAA Player of the Year, joining Jenn Chavez (2007) and Ashley Burnham (2010 & 2012).

Galati, who also collected CAA Pitcher of the Year honors in 2010, 2011 and 2012, led the league with a 34-10 overall record and three saves for the Pride. The senior hurler ranks second in the nation in wins (34) and leads all of Division I with 18 shutouts and 352 strikeouts through the regular season. Galati enters the CAA Championship with the league’s second-best ERA of 1.46 in 287 innings of work. In conference action, she recorded an 18-2 overall record to go along with a 0.92 ERA in 130 innings. The senior struck out a league-high 176 batters and walked just eight while throwing 20 complete games. Galati also excelled as a hitter and enters the tournament with a .370 batting average. Galati also earned CAA Rookie of the Year honors in 2010.

Ford is James Madison’s second consecutive CAA Rookie of the Year and third overall. The freshman pitcher/first baseman completed the regular season with a 21-4 overall record in the circle, including an 11-2 mark in CAA play. Ford was among the CAA leaders with a 1.65 ERA after throwing a team-best 157 innings and striking out 189. At the plate, she batted .392 with 11 doubles, 13 home runs and 43 RBI during the regular season.

Currently in his 24th season at the helm of the Pride, Edwards led Hofstra to its 11th CAA regular season title in 12 years with an 18-2 conference record. Edwards guided the Pride to a 40-11 overall record, which was the 19th time in the last 21 years that Hofstra has posted at least 35 victories despite playing a demanding schedule against many of the top teams in the nation. It is his sixth CAA Coach of the Year honor.

In addition to the major awards announced, the CAA recognized its all-conference first and second teams and the all-rookie squad.  Hofstra placed a league-high four players on the All-CAA first team, while James Madison followed with three players for four positions. Galati, who earned first-team honors for the fourth straight year, was joined by catcher Erin Trippi, third baseman Jess Hirschbuhl, and outfielder Caryn Bailey. Mooney and Ford, who received first-team honors as a pitcher and first baseman, were joined by outfielder Jasmine Butler, who earns All-CAA honors for the third time in her career.  UNCW second baseman Lauryn Buckworth also received All-CAA first team accolades, along with George Mason shortstop Brooke Blankenship and Georgia State outfielder Jessica Clifton.

The Pride also saw a league-best four players honored on the All-CAA second team, while James Madison and Georgia State placed three on the second team. Bailey led three Hofstra players on the All-Rookie team, while Delaware, Georgia State and James Madison each had a pair of representatives on the freshman squad.



Player, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Erin Trippi, Hofstra* C So. Lyndhurst, N.J./Paramus Catholic
Jailyn Ford, James Madison 1B Fr. Hot Springs, Va./Bath County
Lauryn Buckworth, UNCW 2B Sr. Elkton, Md./North East
Jess Hirschbuhl, Hofstra 3B Sr. Jamison, Pa./Central Bucks South/Temple
Brooke Blankenship, George Mason* SS So. Glen Allen, Va./Deep Run
Caryn Bailey, Hofstra OF Fr. Elizabethtown, Pa./Elizabethtown Area
Jasmine Butler, James Madison OF Sr. Winter Garden, Fla./West Orange
Jessica Clifton, Georgia State OF Jr. Hampton, Ga./Luella
Sarah Mooney, James Madison# DP/NP So. Huntersville, N.C./North Mecklenburg
Jailyn Ford, James Madison P Fr. Hot Springs, Va./Bath County
Olivia Galati, Hofstra* P Jr. West Babylon, N.Y./St. John’s The Baptist


Player, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Callie Alford, Georgia State# C So. Conyers, Ga./Heritage
Lauren Coleman, Georgia State* 1B So. Marietta, Ga./McEachern
Tori Rocha, Hofstra# 2B Jr. Rehoboth, Mass./Dighton-Rehoboth
Delanie Dunham, Towson 3B Jr. Chambersburg, Pa./Chambersburg Area
Becca Bigler, Hofstra SS Sr. Bainbridge, Pa./Elizabethtown
Caitlin Sandy, James Madison* SS Jr. Fayetteville, N.C./Jack Britt
Jessica Grisler, Delaware OF So. Sacramento, Calif./Foothill
Morgan Heath, James Madison* OF So. Yorktown, Va./Grafton
Tessa Ziemba, Hofstra* OF Sr. Wilmington, Del./St. Mark’s
Chloe Fitzgerald, Hofstra DP/NP Fr. Prince Frederick, Md./Huntingtown
Heather Kiefer, James Madison* P So. Potomac Falls, Va./Potomac Falls
Kaitlyn Medlam, Georgia State# P Jr. Bethlehem, Ga./Apalachee

2013 CAA Player of the Year: Sarah Mooney, James Madison

2013 CAA Pitcher of the Year:  Olivia Galati, Hofstra

2013 CAA Rookie of the Year:  Jailyn Ford, James Madison

2013 CAA Coach of the Year:  Bill Edwards, Hofstra

* - 1st team All-CAA in 2012                                                   # - 2nd team All-CAA in 2012


Player, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/High School
Taylor Anderson, Georgia State IF Fr. McDonough, Ga./Ola
Caryn Bailey, Hofstra OF Fr. Elizabethtown, Pa./Elizabethtown Area
Erica Field, James Madison C Fr. Manassas, Va./Osbourn Park
Chloe Fitzgerald, Hofstra OF Fr. Prince Frederick, Md./Huntingtown
Jailyn Ford, James Madison P/1B Fr. Hot Springs, Va./Bath County
Maggie Hawkins, Hofstra 1B Fr. Easton, Md./Easton
Shelby Jones, Delaware OF Fr. Lake Forest, Calif./El Toro
Lisa Stacevicz, Delaware SS Fr. Cedar Grove, N.J./Cedar Grove
Olivia Yarbrough, Towson OF Fr. Keizer, Ore./McNary
Katie Worley, Georgia State P Fr. Milton, Fla./Milton