Article Image
Courtesy: CAA/Mark Campbell
The University of Delaware hosted and won the 2013 CAA Field Hockey Championship.

2013 CAA Field Hockey Final Report -- Dec. 7

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 12/07/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

2013 NCAA Field Hockey
D-I Championship Tournament

Wednesday, Nov. 13
No. 14 Delaware def. Liberty (1-0)*
*NCAA Play-In Round

Saturday, Nov. 16
No. 3, third-seeded North Carolina def. Delaware (6-2)*
*NCAA First Round    


Hosted by Delaware - Newark, Del.

November 8 - Semifinals
#1 Delaware 4, #4 William & Mary 2    
#3 Northeastern 2, #2 Drexel 0    

November 10 - CAA Title Game
#1 Delaware 5, #3 Northeastern 1

Selected by CAA Field Hockey Coaches

First Team                    
Jonel Boileau, Hofstra
Amy Goldstein, James Madison
Lauren Hibshman, Drexel
Taylor Hodge, William & Mary
Lindsay McArdle, Drexel
Michaela Patzner, Delaware
Esmée Peet, Delaware
Pippin Saunders, William & Mary
Stella Schoen, Hofstra
Natalie Stewart, Northeastern
Taylor West, James Madison
Jantien Gunter, Drexel  

Second Team                    
Lindsay Bennett, Northeastern
Christina Conrad, Drexel
Chaney Manganello, William & Mary
Kelly Mattingly, Towson
Allie Mikelson, Delaware
Clare O’Malley, Delaware
Loes Stijntjes, James Madison
Jessica Unger, Northeastern
Meghan Winesett, Delaware
Carissa Witmer, Hofstra
Sarah Scher, Delaware

Rookie Team                    
Rosalie Becker, James Madison
Becky Garner, Northeastern
Jessica McCarthy, Drexel
Maria Pastor, William & Mary
Esmée Peet, Delaware
Stella Schoen, Hofstra
Natalie Stewart, Northeastern
Jessica Unger, Northeastern
Meghan Winesett, Delaware
Carissa Witmer, Hofstra

Academic Team
Bethany Ashworth, James Madison
Lindsay Bennett, Northeastern
Jonel Boileau, Hofstra
Kristen Focht, Drexel
Taylor Hodge, William & Mary
Kasey Prettyman, Delaware
Kate Williams, Towson


Major Award Winners
Player of the Year: Esmee Peet, Delaware
Defensive Player of the Year: Amy Golstein, JMU
Rookie of the Year: Esmee Peet, Delaware
Co-Coaches of the Year:
Tess Ellis, William & Mary and
Rolf van de Kerkhof, Delaware

•    It was a season of firsts for the Delaware Blue Hens, who captured their first ever CAA regular season title, hosted their first CAA Championship, and finished league play undefeated for the first time (6-0).
•    Over the course of the CAA Championship, UD erupted for nine total goals, defeating fourth-seeded William & Mary (4-2) and third-seeded Northeastern, 5-1, in the title game.
•    The Blue Hens, who won their third overall league title and first since 2009, were extremely balanced over the championship weekend. Freshman Esmee Peet had one goal and one assist in each game, sophomore Michaela Patzner scored two goals and dished out two assists and freshman Meghan Winesett had two goals and one assist over both wins.
• Senior GK Sarah Scher was named the championship’s Most Outstanding Player after notching 12 saves and allowed just three goals. She finished the season ranked No. 22 in D-I in goals against average (1.54).
• Drexel entered this year’s conference championship as the No. 2 seed and defending champion, but fell to Northeastern, 2-0. The Dragons, who were ranked in the top-20 for five weeks during the season, finished the year with a 13-7 mark.
•    Northeastern, which had made the NCAA tournament each of the past two seasons, appeared in its third straight CAA title game, but the Huskies have yet to win the crown.

Blue Hens Capture 2013 CAA Field Hockey Title: Top-seeded Delaware used five goals from five different players to defeat third-seeded Northeastern, 5-1, in the 2013 CAA Field Hockey Championship Game at Rullo Stadium in Newark, Del. Delaware improved to 16-4 on the year and captured the school’s third CAA Field Hockey Championship and first since 2009. The Blue Hens posted a perfect 6-0 in league play to earn their first regular season title. NU fell to 8-13 overall with the loss and heartbreakingly lost in the CAA title game for the third time in just as many years. Freshman goalkeeper Becky Garner finished with five saves for the Huskies. Senior captain Lindsay Bennett provided the lone goal for Northeastern. UD received goals from Esmee Peet, Michaela Patzner, Meghan Winesett, Kasey Prettyman and Maddie O’Beirne.

Delaware Downs Liberty To Advance In NCAA Play: The No. 14 University of Delaware field hockey team outlasted Liberty University, 1-0, in a NCAA Tournament Play-In Game, held at Rullo Stadium. With the victory, Delaware (17-4) sets a new single-season win record.  The Hens previously won 16 games in 1978, 1982 and 1988.  Liberty snapped a 12-game winning streak and finishes the season with a mark of 17-5. UD advances to play No. 3 North Carolina Saturday at 11:30 a.m. the Tar Heels’ Francis E. Henry Stadium in Chapel Hill, N.C.

CAA NCAA Tournament Tidbits: 2013 was the first year since 2010 and just the fourth time since 2004 that the CAA had just one team earn a bid into the NCAA tourney. UD is just the third CAA team to ever host an NCAA Tournament game and just the second team since 2002 to accomplish such a feat. The other CAA schools who have hosted an NCAA game are James Madison and former league member, ODU.

UD’s Peet Headlines 2013 All-CAA Field Hockey Squad: Delaware freshman midfielder Esmée Peet was honored as the 2013 Colonial Athletic Association field hockey Player and Rookie of the Year in a vote by the league’s head coaches. James Madison senior defender Amy Goldtsein was named the CAA Defensive Player of the Year, becoming the first Duke since 2008 to win the award. Delaware head coach Rolf van de Kerkhof and William & Mary head coach Tess Ellis shared CAA Coach of the Year honors.

All-Conference Worthwhile Numbers: Delaware led all schools with a total of nine selections across each all-conference squad, followed by Northeastern (7), Drexel (6), Hofstra (6), James Madison (5), William & Mary (5) and Towson (2). A total of 10 players who made all-conference honors came from countries outside the United States.

14 CAA Standouts Earn NFHCA All-Region Honors: A total of 14 players from six different CAA schools were named to various 2013 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-Region Teams. Five players, Drexel’s Lauren Hibshman and Lindsay McArdle, Delaware’s Michaela Patzner and Esmee Peet and Hofstra’s Jonel Boileau, earned first-team honors. Nine other players from around the CAA earned second-team All-Region honors. They were; Christina Conrad, Drexel, Meghan Winesett, Delaware, Stella Schoen, Hofstra, Northeastern’s Lindsay Bennett, Natalie Stewart and Jessica Unger, James Madison’s Amy Goldstein, the 2013 CAA Defensive Player of the year, and Taylor West and Pippin Saunders of William & Mary.

Bright Future Ahead For CAA Field Hockey: The future of field hockey in the CAA looks to be in good hands, as a number of talented freshmen and sophomores return in 2014. A total of 12 freshmen and sophomores earned first and second-team All-CAA honors this past season. JMU’s Taylor West (So.), William & Mary’s Pippin Saunders (So.), Hofstra’s Stella Schoen (Fr.), Drexel’s Lauren Hibshman (So.) and Northeastern’s Natalie Stewart (Fr.) headline the skilled group of young returnees.


The Delaware Blue Hens completed one of the most successful seasons in school history in 2013, posting a program record 17 victories. UD captured both CAA regular season and tournament championships en route to an NCAA postseason berth. The Hens finished 1-1 in the NCAA Tournament following a play-in game victory over Liberty before falling to No. 3 North Carolina in the first round.