Article Image
Courtesy: CAA

Hofstra To Host CAA SAAC Leadership Summit

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 11/03/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Quick Links

RICHMOND, Va. (November 1, 2013) – Colonial Athletic Association student-athletes and advisors are scheduled to gather for the league’s 2013 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Leadership Summit.  The event will be held November 3-4 and is hosted by Hofstra University.

One male and one female student-athlete leader from each member institution will attend the summit, along with nine campus SAAC advisors and the CAA National SAAC Representative, Kate Williams. Also joining the discussion will be CAA Commissioner Thomas Yeager, CAA Senior Associate Commissioner Kathleen Batterson, CAA Associate Commissioner Scott Meyer and CAA Assistant Director for Compliance & Student-Athlete Services, Donna Jones.

The first day of the summit will be held on the campus of Hofstra University. Shamaree Brown, Director/ Student-Athlete Programs and Compliance at the Atlantic Coast Conference, will open up with an interactive session on Leadership utilizing the DiSC Behavioral Assessment. The SAAC group will then head over to Borrelli’s Italian Restaurant where dinner will be served and a second session will occur with an evening speaker.

The final day of the event will be held in the University Club Conference Room on the campus of Hofstra University and the Axinn Library on the campus of Hofstra University. The student-athletes and advisors will discuss “Hot Topic” issues with the group. The attendees will also be challenged to come up with ideas to help enhance the “student-athlete experience”.  Areas that will be focused on include student-athlete welfare issues, recognizing academic & athletic achievements, social media, and other issues. Commissioner Yeager, who is in his 29th year at the helm of the CAA, will solicit input from CAA student-athletes on issues that affect them and hear their ideas about ways to enhance the student-athlete experience. The summit will conclude with a plan to implement best practices that are learned and developed over the weekend.

The CAA would like to thank our hosts at Hofstra, including President Stuart Rabinowitz, Provost Herman Berliner, Director of Athletics Jeff Hathaway, Senior Associate Director of Athletics Cindy Lewis, and Assistant Director of Athletics/Student-Athlete Service and Life Skills Development James Lally.

SAAC LEADERSHIP SUMMIT PARTICIPANTS                                                                    

Hope Klicker, College of Charleston--Softball

Greg Karel, College of Charleston--Men’s Swimming

Jessica Grisler, Delaware--Softball

Dan Costenbader, Delaware -- Men’s Golf

Joelle Hartke, Drexel-- Women’s Lacrosse

Bryan Sternlieb, Drexel -- Wrestling

Sydni Epps, Hofstra--Women’s Basketball

Graham Tebbit, Hofstra -- Baseball

Maria Legaspi, James Madison-- Women’s Golf

Ascene Jacques, James Madison -- Football

Lauren Moore, UNCW -- Softball

Cam Walton, UNCW-- Men’s Track and Field

Olivia Stevens, Northeastern --Women’s Track and Field

Kevin Ferguson, Northeastern --Baseball

Kate Williams, Towson-- Field Hockey (CAA National SAAC Rep)

Nani Lizana- Towson- Women’s Tennis

Erik Ripley, Towson --Men’s Swimming

Hannah Clarke, William & Mary -- Women’s Lacrosse

Mark Moran, William & Mary -- Men’s Track and Field


Kristin Rusbolt -- College of Charleston

Rachel Fineberg – Delaware

Rachel Guererra – Drexel

James Lally –Hofstra

Tiffany Hall – James Madison

Will Libous – UNCW

Justin Bell – Northeastern

Marjorie Tversky – Towson

Deidre Connelly – William & Mary