RICHMOND, Va. (June 29, 2011) – George Mason junior Lavell Handy (Hampton,  Va.) was selected as the 2011 CAA Male Athlete of the Year in track and field by a vote of the league’s head coaches.  Also earning top honors from the conference were Northeastern freshman Eric Jenkins (Portsmouth, N.H.), who was chosen as the CAA Rookie of the Year in men’s track and field, and George Mason’s Andrew Gerard, who was voted CAA Coach of the Year for the second year in a row.

Handy earned second-team All-America honors this season after placing 12th in the triple jump (15.71m) at the NCAA Championships, which was the top finish of any CAA athlete at the event. He was selected as the Most Outstanding Performer in field events at the 2011 CAA Championship after winning the long jump (7.58m) and the triple jump (15.49m). He also took home first place in the 110 meter hurdles (14.37). Handy was the IC4A champion in the triple jump and the Penn Relays champion in the long jump. He is Mason’s first CAA track and field Athlete of the Year since 2006.

Jenkins was the only freshman among 24 runners that competed in the 1,500 meters at the NCAA Championship and placed 19th with a time of 3:51.21 to garner honorable mention All-America accolades. He became the first NU runner since 1994 to win the 1,500 meters at the New England Outdoor Championship. His time of 3:46.04 in that event was the fastest in school history by a freshman and the fifth-best mark ever at NU. Jenkins also captured the 5,000 meter run at the CAA Championship with a time of 14:27.04. He placed first in four of his seven outdoor races this season.

Gerard was honored as the CAA Coach of the Year for the second straight season and the third time in his career after guiding George Mason to back-to-back conference titles.  The Patriots compiled 239 points in the CAA meet, which was 95.5 points more than their closest competitor, and had 10 individual event champions. Gerard previously earned the CAA Coach of the Year accolades in 2003 during his tenure as head coach at William and Mary.

In addition to the 2011 major award winners in men’s track and field, the following individuals and relay teams received All-CAA honors based on their performances at the CAA Championship.

2011 CAA Men’s Track and Field All-Conference Honorees:

100m: Rachaunn Ruffin (Mason), DeAngelo Wilson (VCU), Jeremy Johnson (UNCW)
200m: Rachaunn Ruffin (Mason), DeAngelo Wilson (VCU), Adrian Vaughn (Mason)
400m: David Verburg (Mason), Nick Vaughn (Mason), Ja-Vell Bullard (Mason)
800m: Bob Vanderham (UNCW), Wil Zahorodny (UNCW), Tyler Golden (Mason)
1,500m: Brian Sklodowski (W&M), Lewis Woodard (W&M), Anthony LaMastro (Mason)
5,000m: Eric Jenkins (NU), Andy Weaver (Delaware), Alex Zyryanov (Mason)
10,000m: Alex McGrath (W&M), Josh Hardin (W&M), Ben Massam (W&M)
110m hurdles: Lavell Handy (Mason), David Lindsay (UNCW), Kasey Rollins (GSU)
400m hurdles: Jonathan Hall (NU), Chris Felmet (UNCW), Chris McIntosh (W&M)
3,000m Steeplechase: Daniel Callan (Mason), Liam Anastasia-Murphy (W&M), Robert Reynolds (Mason)
4x100m relay: George Mason (Adrian Vaughn, Rachaunn Ruffin, Travaughn Baker-Johnson, Nick Vaughn)
                      VCU (Donnie Seward, Kyle Jones, Josh Bostick, DeAngelo Wilson)
                      UNCW (Johnathan Nixon, Justin Prevette, David Lindsay, Jeremy Johnson)
4x400m relay: Northeastern (Alex Shapiro, Jonathan Hall, Evan Whetsell, Kaylin Miranda)
                      UNCW (Trip Foreman, Bob Vanderham, Max Mittelman, Wil Zahorodny)
                      VCU (Donnie Seward, Josh Bostick, Dominick Costanzo, Jeff Hernandez)
High Jump: Ben Katz (W&M), Logan Elliston (UNCW), Adrian Li (NU)
Pole Vault: Wes Sun (Mason), Patrick Dietrick (Mason), Lee Oxenford (Mason)
Long Jump: Lavell Handy (Mason), Andrew Staples (NU), Kaylin Miranda (NU)
Triple Jump: Lavell Handy (Mason), Aerial Chatman (UNCW), Dwight Webley (Mason)
Shot Put: John Viotto (Delaware), Patrick Jablonski (NU), Nick Alexander (Delaware)
Discus: John Viotto (Delaware), Patrick Jablonski (NU), Dan Klatzkin (W&M)
Hammer: Jim Schwendtner (Delaware), Zach Jordan (W&M), Connor Whitesel (Delaware)
Javelin: Brandon Heroux (W&M), Christopher Reider (NU), Kenneth Wooten (VCU)
Decathlon: David Wellington (Mason), Ross Shober (Delaware), Dylan Lucas (NU)