Article Image
Courtesy: CAA
Drexel's David Sanchez

CAA Names Men's Swimming & Diving Award Winners

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 04/11/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Quick Links

RICHMOND, Va. (April 11, 2013)Old Dominion junior Sidni Hoxha (Tirane, Albania) was chosen as the CAA Men’s Swimmer of the Year and Drexel freshman David Sanchez (Marietta, Ga.) was selected as the CAA Men’s Diver and Rookie Diver of the Year in a vote by the league’s head coaches.

Joining Hoxha and Sanchez as a 2013 award winner in men’s swimming and diving was William & Mary freshman Will Manion (Haddonfield, N.J.), who was selected as the CAA Men’s Rookie Swimmer of the Year. UNCW’s Dave Allen was voted the CAA Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year for the ninth time and Drexel’s Katryn Valladares was selected as the CAA Men’s Diving Coach of the Year for the first time.

Hoxha was the only CAA swimmer to qualify for the NCAA Championship, where he competed in two events. The junior placed 18th in the 50 freestyle with a time of 19.67 and was 29th in the 100 freestyle with a time of 43.48. Hoxha was honored as the Co-Most Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet at the 2013 CAA Championship after capturing two titles. He won the 50 freestyle for the third year in a row with a time of 19.78 after setting a new meet record of 19.60 in the prelims. He also posted a first-place finish in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:37.17 and was a member of the Monarchs’ third-place 800 freestyle relay team. Hoxha set a new CAA record this season in the 100 freestyle with a time of 43.43. He is only the second ODU athlete to be named Swimmer of the Year, joining three-time winner Arni Arnason.

Sanchez is just the second person to earn CAA Diver and Rookie Diver of the Year honors in the same season, joining UNCW’s Kobi Salinas in 2008. He was the conference champion on the 3-meter board with a score of 331.90 and posted a third-place finish on the 1-meter board with a score of 285.40. The freshman was selected as the Most Outstanding Diver of the Meet for that performance. Sanchez is the fifth Drexel athlete to be chosen as the CAA Diver of the Year and the third to be named Rookie Diver of the Year, but the first to earn both awards in a career.

Manion earned 43 points for William & Mary at the 2013 CAA Championship, which was the most of any freshman in the competition. He was the only freshman to capture an individual title by winning the 100 backstroke in a time of 47.82. That effort was the top performance in CAA history and also broke the Tribe school record. Manion finished seventh in the 200 individual medley with a time of 1:50.80 after swimming 1:49.91 in the prelims, and placed eighth in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:50.94 after posting a time of 1:47.93 in the prelims. He also swam the lead-off leg for W&M’s 400 medley relay team that broke the Tribe school record by five seconds (3:14.60).

Allen guided UNCW to its 12th consecutive CAA championship in 2013 with a 41-point margin of victory. The Seahawks won three individual events and took first place in four of the five relays. Allen received CAA Swimming Coach of the Year honors for the sixth year in a row and the 10th time overall. Valladares was chosen as the men’s Diving Coach of the Year for the first time after the Dragons had the conference champion on both the 1-meter (Stephen Cal) and 3-meter (Sanchez) boards. She is Drexel’s second Diving Coach of the Year, joining Larry May in 2004 and 2007.

In addition to the 2013 major award winners in men’s swimming and diving, the following individuals and relay teams received All-CAA accolades based on their performances at the CAA Championship.

50-Freestyle: Sidni Hoxha, Old Dominion; Joe Gallene, UNCW; C.J. Fiala, UNCW

100-Freestyle: Joe Gallene, UNCW; Joey Kelly, George Mason; Nick Lowe, UNCW

200-Freestyle: Sidni Hoxha, Old Dominion; Joey Kelly, George Mason; David Kiss, George Mason

500-Freestyle: Kemp Pettyjohn, William & Mary; Bernard Figueiredo, Old Dominion; Ryan Roberts, Delaware

1650-Freestyle: Kemp Pettyjohn, William & Mary; Bernard Figueiredo, ODU; Fernando Rubio, George Mason

100-Butterfly: Nick Lowe, UNCW; Stephen Conrad, UNCW; Valtteri Halonen, UNCW

200-Butterfly: K.J. Shaw, William & Mary; David Kiss, George Mason; Reed Mathews, Old Dominion

100-Breaststroke:  Andrew Strait, William & Mary; C.J. Fiala, UNCW; Ray McGorry, UNCW

200-Breaststroke: Andrew Strait, William & Mary; Ray McGorry, UNCW; Michael Baric, UNCW

100-Backstroke: Will Manion, William & Mary; Valtteri Halonen, UNCW; Michael Baric, UNCW

200-Backstroke: Valtteri Halonen, UNCW; Ryan Roberts, Delaware; Justin Barden, William & Mary

200-Individual Medley: Andrew Strait, William & Mary; David Kiss, George Mason; Ray McGorry, UNCW

400-Individual Medley: Fernando Rubio, George Mason; Kyle Sockwell, George Mason; Jason Brame, Old Dominion

200-Freestyle Relay: UNCW (C.J. Fiala, Stephen Conrad, Nick Lowe, Joe Gallene)

                                        George Mason (Austin Witherow, Travis Lauri, Colin Schwartz, Joey Kelly)

                                        William & Mary (Ben Ward, Andrew Strait, Hunter Perrot, Sidney Glass)

400-Freestyle Relay:  UNCW (Joe Gallene, Gabe Thran, Nick Lowe, C.J. Fiala)

                                        Old Dominion (Sidni Hoxha, Vitor Sa, Ben Hansen, Drew Crockett)

                                        George Mason (David Kiss, Travis Lauri, Austin Witherow, Joey Kelly)

800-Freestyle Relay: William & Mary (Kemp Pettyjohn, Taegan Clarke, Andrew Strait, Hunter Perrot)

                                        George Mason (David Kiss, Fernando Rubio, Kyle Sockwell, Joey Kelly)

                                        Old Dominion (Vitor Sa, Ben Hansen, Carter Watson, Sidni Hoxha)

200-Medley Relay: UNCW (Valterri Halonen, C.J. Fiala, Stephen Conrad, Joe Gallene)

                                     William & Mary (Sidney Glass, Andrew Strait, Justin Barden, Ben Ward)

                                     Delaware (Ryan Roberts, Tyler Szarko, Cole Clark, Paul Gallagher)

400-Medley Relay: UNCW (Valtteri Halonen, C.J. Fiala, Nick Lowe, Michael Williams)

                                     William & Mary (Will Manion, Andrew Strait, K.J. Shaw, Hunter Perrot)

                                     Old Dominion (Drew Crockett, Jason Haigh, Vitor Sa, Sidni Hoxha)

One-Meter Dive: Stephen Cal, Drexel; Nick Guttendorf, George Mason; David Sanchez, Drexel

Three-Meter Dive: David Sanchez, Drexel; Nick Guttendorf, George Mason; Brian Coonce, Delaware