Article Image
Courtesy: CAA

14 CAA Wrestlers Earn Victories at Day One of NCAA Championships

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 03/22/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

RICHMOND, Va. (March 22, 2013) – Fourteen CAA wrestlers earned victories on the first day of the NCAA Wrestling Championships in Des Moines, Iowa. Hofstra, Binghamton, and Boston University led the way with three wrestlers each advancing in their respective weight classes.

Hofstra, the 2013 CAA wrestling champion, advanced all three of its wrestlers sent to the championship. 2012 Steve Bonanno, who earned All-America honors in 2012, won a 9-2 decision over 10th-seeded Josh Martinez of Air Force in his first match but was beaten 5-3 by 7th-seeded Nathan Kraisser of North Carolina. He will enter the consolation bracket Friday morning against Tyler Iwamura of Cal State Bakersfield.

Also picking up victories for the Pride were Jamie Franco at 133 and Luke Vaith at 141.  Franco dropped a slim 3-2 decision in the first round to Shelton Mack of Pittsburgh but bounced back to earn a 6-4 victory over Brandon Gambucci of Duke in the consolation round. Vaith earned a first-round victory over Nathan Pennesi of West Virginia (8-3) but fell to 4th-seeded Mitchell Port of Edinboro (13-2) in round two, sending Vaith to the consolation second round.

Binghamton’s Donnie Vinson finished day one with a 2-1 record. The CAA Championship’s Most Outstanding Wrestler started the event with a 9-5 decision over Ian Paddock of Ohio State in a pigtail match in the 149 bracket. Vinson dropped a heartbreaking 3-2 decision to American’s Kevin Tao in his next match but bounced back to knock off Tyler Bedelyon of Clarion in the consolation round (13-1).

Binghamton’s Derek Steeley finished day one at 1-1 with an 11-6 victory over Sam Speno of N.C. State before falling to Edinboro’s A.J. Schopp, 8-0 and dropping into the consolation round. The Bearcats’ Nathan Schiedel also was 1-1 for the day with a 10-1 major decision over Duke’s Conner Hartmann at 151. Schiedel fell to Scott Schiller of Minnesota in round two (9-5) but is back on the mat Friday morning in the consolation round.

Boston University’s Dane Harlowe advanced to the second round of the 133 bracket after a 9-7 first-0round victory over 11th-seeded George DiCamillo of Virginia. Harlowe dropped to the consolation bracket after falling to sixth-seeded Nathan McCormick of Missouri, 11-1.

The Terrier’s Nestor Taffur and Kevin Innis each finished 1-1 in the 157 and Heavyweight brackets. Taffur defeated Wyoming’s Andy McCullery 12-6 in the first-round consolation bracket of the 157 championship. Innis knocked off William Smith of Rutgers 2-1 in the heavyweight bracket consolation first round.

Rider’s Zac Cibula and Ramon Santiago both earned victories on day one. Cibula knocked off ninth-seeded Frank Hickman of Bloomsburg by pin fall in round one of the 157 championship. Cibula dropped a 13-5 major decision to 8th-seeded Dylan Alton of Penn State and dropped into the consolation round. Santiago picked up a 13-1 victory over Josh Houldsworth of Columbia to advance to the consolation second round of the 165 bracket.

Drexel’s Brandon Palik advanced in the 197 championship with a 14-6 first-round victory over Virginia’s Michael Salopek before falling to the consolation rounds after a close 3-2 defeat to second-seeded Quentin Wright of Penn State. Also picking up a victory for the Dragons was Frank Cimato who topped Nathan Pennesi of West Virginia (7-1) in the consolation round of the 141 championship.

Old Dominion’s Chris Mecate, seeded 12th at 141, earned his first career NCAA victory by defeating Brandon Nelson of Purdue 6-3 in the first round of the 141 bracket. Mecate fell to fifth-seeded Evan Henderson of North Carolina (10-2) but will move into the consolation bracket.

All wresters will be back in action in Friday morning’s session three competition. All of session three, including quarterfinal action, can be viewed on ESPNU as well as beginning at 11 a.m. Friday night’s session four semifinals and wrestlebacks will be aired on ESPNU.