Article Image
Courtesy: CAA
2013 CAA Wrestling Champions Hofstra University

Hofstra Wins 2013 CAA Wrestling Championship

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 03/09/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

BOSTON, Mass. (March 9, 2013) - Hofstra crowned two individual champions en route to winning the 2013 CAA Wrestling Championship Saturday night at Boston University. It was the Pride's 11th CAA title in the past 12 years. Binghamton's Donnie Vinson was named Most Outstanding Wrestler for the second year in a row.

Hofstra tallied 67.5 points to take top honors while Binghamton and Rider tied for runner-up honors with 54 points. Boston University finished fourth with 51.5 points and Drexel and George Mason rounded out the standings.

Senior Steve Bonanno at 125 and junior Jamie Franco at 133 captured individual titles for the Pride. It was Bonanno's second consecutive conference title after winning in 2012. It was Franco's first CAA title. Bonanno will be making his fourth NCAA Championship appearance. Franco will be making his second NCAA Championship appearance after picking up runner-up honors last season.

Vinson defended his crown at 149 pounds and was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler for the second straight year. Vinson (29-1), ranked No. 4 in the latest InterMat poll, won his second straight conference title with a 15-0 technical fall over second-seeded Alex Richardson of Old Dominion.

Also earning individual championships were Old Dominion's Chris Mecate at 141 and Billy Curling at 174. Rider finished with two champions in Ramon Santiago at 165 and Ryan Wolfe at 184.

Boston's Nestor Taffur was crowned champion at 157 while teammate Kevin Innis took home top honors at heavyweight.  Cody Reed of Binghamton won the 185 championship and Brandon Palik of Drexel took home top honors at 197.