RICHMOND, Va. (February 24, 2010) – The Colonial Athletic Association is proud to announce that Team ACP Construction has agreed to become the official sponsor of the CAA 25th Anniversary Silver Stars Celebration Brunch.

“Only our passion for college athletics rivals our passion for construction,” said Sylvester D. Clay, Team ACP’s President and Chief Executive Officer. “We’re honored to be here and are proud to support all of the past athletes who have shown such great passion for the CAA.”

The brunch, which will take place on Sunday, March 7 from 10 a.m.-Noon at the Richmond Marriott, will honor the 25 student-athletes who have had the greatest impact on the conference over its 25-year history. The event will also include a look back at highlights from the conference’s storied past. Tickets for the brunch are available for $35, but must be ordered by March 3. Click here to order tickets.

“We’re pleased to have Team ACP Construction as the official sponsor of the CAA Silver Stars Brunch,” CAA Commissioner Tom Yeager said. “The event will be a celebration of the many outstanding administrators, coaches and student-athletes who have made the CAA one of the nation’s most widely-respected collegiate conferences over the past 25 years.”

There are 14 males and 11 females among the 25 Silver Stars and they represent 15 different sports and come from 11 CAA institutions. There are eight athletes who were National Players of the Year in their respective sports and seven athletes who competed in the Olympic Games.  The group includes 15 athletes who competed professionally in their respective sports, including All-Stars from the NBA, WNBA and Major League Baseball.

Silver Stars who are expected to attend the brunch are Daniel Andersson (VCU – men’s tennis), Adin Brown (William and Mary – men’s soccer), Sean Casey (Richmond – baseball), Kate Hynes (Drexel – women’s diving), Diane Guthrie-Greshman (George Mason – women’s track & field), Matt Lane (William and Mary - men’s track & field/cross country), Kayleigh Lotti (Hofstra – softball), Jon Masa (Hofstra – wrestling), Megan Moulton-Levy (William and Mary - women’s tennis), Johnny Newman (Richmond – men’s basketball) and Alex Smith (Delaware – men’s lacrosse).

Team ACP is a privately owned, Class ‘A’ general contractor founded on the principles of hard work, dedication and commitment. Team ACP’s experienced team of professionals have delivered projects across many sectors of the commercial construction industry including health care, institutional, office and retail. The company has developed into one of the fastest growing minority contractors in the Mid-Atlantic region.


Daniel Andersson, VCU, Men’s Tennis (1996-2000)
Istvan Bagyula, George Mason, Men’s Track & Field (1989-92)
Brett Blizzard, UNC Wilmington, Men’s Basketball (1999-2003)
Adin Brown, William and Mary, Men’s Soccer (1996-99)
Sean Casey, Richmond, Baseball (1993-95)
Marina DiGiacomo, Old Dominion, Field Hockey (1997-2000)
George Evans, George Mason, Men’s Basketball (1997-2001)
Diane Guthrie-Gresham, George Mason, Women’s Track & Field (1991-95)
Kate Hynes, Drexel, Women’s Diving (2005-09)
Kelli James, Old Dominion, Field Hockey (1988-92)
Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison, Baseball (2005-07)
Matt Lane, William and Mary, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field (1996-2000)
Kayleigh Lotti, Hofstra, Softball (2006-09)
Clarisse Machanguana, Old Dominion, Women’s Basketball (1994-97)
Jon Masa, Hofstra, Wrestling (2000-06)
Eric Maynor, VCU, Men’s Basketball (2005-09)
Megan Moulton-Levy, William and Mary, Women’s Tennis (2004-08)
Natalie Neaton, William and Mary, Women’s  Soccer (1992-95)
Johnny Newman, Richmond, Men’s Basketball (1982-86)
Ticha Penicheiro, Old Dominion, Women’s Basketball (1994-98)
Aline Pereira, George Mason, Volleyball (2000-03)
David Robinson, Navy, Men’s Basketball (1983-87)
Alex Smith, Delaware, Men’s Lacrosse (2004-07)
Carole Thate, James Madison, Field Hockey (1993-95)
Justin Verlander, Old Dominion, Baseball (2002-04)