Article Image
Courtesy: CAA

Women's Lacrosse Weekly Report - March 11

Courtesy: CAA
          Release: 03/11/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS


Alyse Maiden • Drexel

Washington Township, N.J./Washington Township, Sr., Attacker

Maiden picks up her first CAA Player of the Week honor of the season after registering seven goals in two games last week. The senior attacker posted a season-high four goals and an assist in the Dragons 14-10 victory over Villanova on Wednesday. She added three goals in Drexel's 14-8 loss to UMBC Saturday while going 1-1 in free-position attempts. Maiden has 11 goals and six assist on the season and sits eighth on Drexel's all-time points list with 140.


Erin Anderson • George Mason

West Chester, Pa./West Chester Henderson, Fr., Defender

Anderson earns CAA Rookie of the Week honors after helping George Mason to a 14-10 victory over American last week. The freshman defender led the Patriots with four ground balls while recording a team-best two caused turnovers. On the season, Anderson is second on the team with seven ground balls and seven caused turnovers.



Delaware's Chelsea Fay, Allison Hahn, Bridget Burns, and Shannon Burn all registered hat tricks in the in the Blue Hen's 17-7 victory over Lehigh Tuesday night. It was Delaware's highest scoring output since 2011.

Old Dominion's Christina Rea scored a career-high five goals in the Lady Monarch's 15-11 victory over American last Saturday.

James Madison's Casey Ancarrow moved into ninth on the school's all-time career points list after registering four points in the Dukes narrow 13-12 loss to No. 7 Penn State last Saturday.

George Mason's Rachel Obregon recorded her third hat trick of the season in the Patriots 14-10 win over American last week.

Towson was ranked at No. 16 in the week two IWLA Coaches Association Top 20 Poll. Drexel, Hofstra, and James Madison were just outside the top 20, receiving votes from various coaches.

James Madison's Casey Ancarrow and Towson's Alexa Demski are among 50 players named to the watch list for the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy, given to the nation's top college lacrosse player. The Tewaaraton Trophy is presented annually following the collegiate season to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States.  Tewaaraton is the name the Mohawk Indian nation gave to its game, the forerunner of present-day lacrosse. This annual watch list is made up of the top players across all three NCAA

divisions of collegiate competition.